Congressional Delegation Goes to South America

Current House Ag Chair Bob Goodlatte, R-Va., and incoming Ag Chair Collin Peterson, D-Min., will lead a delegation to Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay.

The current House Agriculture Committee chairman and his Jan. 1 replacement will lead a bipartisan Congressional delegation to three South American countries to discuss agriculture, technology and trade.

Current Ag Committee chair Bob Goodlatte, R-Va., incoming chair Collin Peterson, D-Min., and the rest of the delegation plan to meet with government and business leaders in Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay.

The delegation plans to meet with government leaders in Uruguay, including House of Representatives President Julio Cardozo; Mercosur leaders, including director of the Mercosur Secretariat Jose Buttner; the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Secretary of Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Food, and other government officials in Argentina; and agribusiness leaders in Brazil.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.