Senators: Poultry Inspection Modernization Brings Safety, Savings

Senators: Poultry Inspection Modernization Brings Safety, Savings

Group of Senators asks Vilsack to move forward with poultry inspection system

A bipartisan group of 13 U.S. senators sent a letter last week to USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack urging him to move forward with a proposal to modernize the department's poultry inspection system.

The voluntary change would allow plant employees to check carcasses for defects and perform other quality-assurance tasks, freeing up federal inspectors to focus more on food-safety related tasks, the Senators argued

The Senators' letter noted that a risk assessment which accompanied the proposed rule concluded more than 5,000 foodborne illnesses per year would be prevented if the system was changed in this way, saving about $80 million in health care costs annually.

Group of Senators asks Vilsack to move forward with poultry inspection system

"The effectiveness of this system has been demonstrated through a pilot program which was run in 25 poultry plants for over 14 years," the letter said.  "The proposed rule included data that compared performance measures at the pilot plants and traditional plants, and found that the pilot plants performed as well or better than traditional plants on key standards."

The senators concluded, "We are interested to know when you plan to send the proposed rule to the Office of Management and Budget, and your timeline for implementation of the rule, once finalized."

House Committee on Agriculture Chairman Frank Lucas, R-Okla., and Ranking Member Colin Peterson D-Minn., and the chairman and ranking member of the House Subcommittee on Livestock, Rural Development and Credit, Rep. Rick Crawford, R-Ark. and Rep. Jim Costa, D-Calif., submitted a similar letter to Vilsack last month.

Those signing the Senate letter included Roy Blunt, R-Mo., John Boozman, R-Ark., Saxby Chambliss, R-Ga., Chris Coons, D-Del., John Cornyn, R-Texas, Joe Donnelly, D-Ind., Chuck Grassley, R-Iowa, Kay Hagan, D-N.C., Heidi Heitkamp, D-N.D., Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., Amy Klobachar, D-Minn., Mark Pryor, D-Ark. and Mark Warner, D-Va.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.